Scientific Committee

The ICPC Scientific Committee is represented by:

Dr. Benjamin Monrabal
Polymer Char, Spain
ICPC Co-founder

Benjamín Monrabal received a Chemical Engineering degree in the Instituto Químico de Sarriá, Barcelona and a PhD degree in Chemistry at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Dr. Monrabal worked for The Dow Chemical Company from 1970 till 1993 in the R&D organization. He was named an Associate Scientist for his technical contributions in the Polyolefin business. In 1992 he founded Polymer Char, where he currently is responsible for the R&D group, with field of expertise the characterization of polyolefins. He holds two patents on crystallization techniques (CRYSTAF and CEF).

Dr. Colin Li Pi Shan
The Dow Chemical Company, U.S.A.
ICPC Co-founder

Dr. Colin Li Pi Shan The Dow Chemical Company, USA Colin Li Pi Shan joined DOW in 2002 and is a development specialist in the field of polyolefin elastomers supporting Plastics Research and Development. Colin's responsibilities include being a subject matter expert for polyolefin microstructure analysis to support resin and product development, production, and intellectual asset needs. Colin received his PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Waterloo under the supervision of Prof Joao Soares.

Prof. João Soares
University of Alberta, Canada
ICPC Co-founder

João Soares is a Professor in the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering at the University of Alberta and Campus Alberta Innovation Program Chair (CAIP) in Interfacial Polymer Engineering for Oilsands Processing.  His research interests are: 1) polyolefin reaction engineering, 2) polymer microstructural characterization and fractionation, 3) mathematical modeling of polymer microstructure, 4) in-situ polymer nanocomposites, and 5) water-soluble polymer for oil sands technology.

He is Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering and a member of the Executive Advisory Board of the Macromolecular journals (Wiley-VCH) responsible for the coordination of Macromolecular Reaction Engineering. He is also a consultant for several polyolefin-manufacturing companies in Canada, USA, Europe and Brazil.

Prof. Minoru Terano
Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology –JAIST-, Japan
Joined Committee in 2008

Professor Minoru Terano was born in 1953. He recieved a PhD from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1981. He worked for Toho Titanium Co., Ltd. from 1981 to 1992 as a leader of catalyst R&D group.

He joined Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology –JAIST- in 1993 as a full professor. His major research fields have been all aspects of Polyolefin relating technologies.

Prof. Dujin Wang
Institute of Chemistry of the Chinese Academy of Sciences –ICCAS-, China
Joined Committee in 2010

Professor Dujin Wang is a deputy director of Institute of Chemistry, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), and the director of CAS Key Laboratory of Engineering Plastics. The research interests of Prof. Wang’ s group include the structure-property relationship of polyolefin materials, preparation of high performance polyolefin alloys by post-processing, confined crystallization of long chain alkanes in restrained geometry.

8th ICPC Major Sponsors

8th ICPC Dow Logo



8th ICPC Sponsors
8th ICPC Vendors


tosoh icpc

8th ICPC Agilent Logo

8th ICPC Research Partners
icpc logo latep
8th icpc fraunhofer logo
8th ICPC Sustainability Parnter

polyolefins circular economy platform ICPC

8th ICPC Media Partners

2009-2024 International Conference on Polyolefin Characterization Organization.